Remember when I was your boat and you were my sea? (Part 1)

IMG_4318

IMG_4357

IMG_4417

IMG_4442

IMG_4326-side

IMG_4488

“I’d be smiling and chatting away, and my mind would be floating around somewhere else, like a balloon with a broken string.”
― Haruki Murakami, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

Got inspired by Siewhuey and Xinying’s balloon shoot. I should have given them credit on my Dayre but I have a bigger audience here. I thought of going for light colours like they did but the place I got my balloons from sold them in a bunch of rainbow colours and it is a lot cheaper than getting them individually. The vibrant colours would definitely be more eye-catching so I wore really muted colours to have them stand out. I wanted to wear black but went with white instead because Jo said white would be better so I got the chance to bust out my lace dress from Pacsun.

I had to contemplate for a long time at Seattle when I was in the Pacsun store because this dress wasn’t on discount but I wanted something from there, specifically the Kendall and Kylie line. It was the one in XS. Such stubbornness led to me spending 70USD. It was definitely designed for Coachella so when I saw it, I thought of wearing it with a floppy hat, a fringe bag and brown boots. For this shoot, I went with my sandals from BKK because I thought I’d be doing the whole thing barefooted and I wanted to walk in comfort. It turned out to be a really nice match. Anyway, I’m just glad I got something from Pacsun.

I got the chance to finally use my red lipstick from Rimmel’s Kate Moss collection. It’s in the shade 01 and I got it because it’s Zoella’s favourite shade of red. I thought of using my M.A.C but I’ll shall save it for special events.

I never gave two hoots about stares so walking around in touristy areas with so many balloons wasn’t uncomfortable. It was bringing them on buses and trains, that was the challenge.

All photos taken by Joseph (@theboneyone). He rented a 35mm f/1.4L lens for two shoots and I tried my best not to fall in love with it because I would treat my 50mm like dirt afterwards. You can definitely see the difference between the different apertures and that makes me sad. Or it can motivate me to work hard and get better lenses.

We did two shoots, one in the day and one in the night. I’ll put them into two different series just because they are entirely different ideas. I wanted to do something with balloons and Jo wanted to do something with his fairy lights.

Can’t wait for the next one.

2 thoughts on “Remember when I was your boat and you were my sea? (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

