I’m healing and feeling better than ever (part 1)

IMG_4663 2

IMG_4672 2 copy

IMG_4681 copy

IMG_4686 copy

Photos by @theboneyone. Jo’s expensive fairy lights were the accessory for this shoot. Copper is bendy so we were able to wrap them around me and the lightbulbs didn’t heat up too. We struggled with it at first because we had to find the correct placing for the individual bulbs so my face can be seen. The photos turned out beautifully in the end. The shutter speed was low enough to capture the right amount of light. Also, I must commend the 35mm. The blur at the back is so freakin’ amazing. Again, I’m really proud of both of us. Mostly Jo, actually, for capturing such gorgeous photos and bringing ideas to life.

“I was never one to patiently pick up broken fragments and glue them together again and tell myself that the mended whole was as good as new. What is broken is broken, and I’d rather remember it as it was at its best than mend it and see the broken pieces as long as I lived”
—Margaret Mitchell

This road to healing myself was easier than the previous ones. I made sure we weren’t one from the start. We were always two separate beings because it’s never healthy for two people to be one. You forget how to function on your own after the other person is gone. I didn’t want that for us. I learnt how to love myself and put myself first after 16 years old. You can never love someone properly if you can’t even take care of yourself. I love myself too much to let myself fall into the dark abyss; to let myself wallow in self pity when I can do things to make myself better.

It’s always mind over matter for me and I like that.

Anyway, I’m excited for the upcoming shoots. It’s not about modelling. It’s about bringing ideas together and ending up with something beautiful. I can’t wait for it.

Leave a Reply

